h1

Final word on 2011 Color of the Year

December 9, 2010

Well, as I mentioned in my last post, today’s the day Pantone announced their pick for 2011 Color of the Year and what a surprise! The color name is Honeysuckle (no, not my golden yellow “Honeysuckle” that comes from the way our white honeysuckle blossoms turn with age), a deep pink-red. Here’s what Pantone had to say about the reason for their color choice:

“In times of stress, we need something to lift our spirits. Honeysuckle is a captivating, stimulating color that gets the adrenaline going – perfect to ward off the blues,” explains Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Color Institute®. “Honeysuckle derives its positive qualities from a powerful bond to its mother color red, the most physical, viscerally alive hue in the spectrum.”

Pantone's 2011 Color of the Year: "Honeysuckle"

This year, speculation sure seems to run the gamut! While I LOVE this color, I can see how it will be more popular in fashion and packaging than interiors.  Pantone is suggesting it for walls in foyers and dining rooms because it’s such a happy color and also stimulates appetites. In kitchens, they suggested using it for accessories like placemats, glassware and other accents and even suggested painting your kitchen cabinets this color! I don’t know about that! I just can’t see my clients going for it, but never say never!

So to recap, Akzo Nobel was the first to come out with their color “Lime Twist” with a theme of “appreciation” (see my August 18th 2011 Color of the Year post), followed by Benjamin Moore’s “Vintage Wine” with their theme of “balance” (Update: 2011 of the Year & Color Trends post)  and now Pantone’s very colorful “Honeysuckle” to “embolden us to face everyday troubles with verve and vigor”! It’s all good, no?

 

The pink-red is in the same family as Akzo Nobel's pick for their red for 2011

 

As you can see, Akzo's 2011 Red is also a vibrant pink-red!

So tell me, what color do you want to see more of next year?

www.ellenkennon.com

 

4 comments

  1. Awesome choice of color: Honeysuckle! My all-time Favorite color!


  2. My wedding is on june and i don’t know the best color for my wedding,may you help please!


    • What is your favorite color? I would pick the color that makes me feel happiest! Congratulations and many blessings!


  3. http://www.kathleenmaerequiero.com



Leave a comment