h1

A Thank You to 2010 and a Salute to 2011!

January 3, 2011

The New Year is my favorite time of year because the energy of the season encourages us to go within to reflect on our past and focus on our inner vision and intentions. I spent the better part of  Sunday outdoors soaking in the sunshine and writing down my aspirations for 2011. There’s no better tonic for reflection and rejuvenation than spending time in Nature.

I used to get readings and predictions from astrologers and other intuitives, but have found Dr. Doreen Virtue’s Angelic Oracle Cards to be amazing tools for tapping into my own higher wisdom and whatever spirit guides surround me.

Doreen Virtue (don’t you just love her name!) has written dozens of books and oracle card sets about Angels, Archangels, Ascended Masters, Goddesses, Fairies and other Nature Spirits.  I used to have most all of her oracle card sets, but I’ve been giving them away as the spirit moves me because now I have my favorites on my iPhone! Yes, that’s right, they are now in the form of Apps! I was especially drawn to the Archangel Oracle Cards as they are so incredibly powerful, I quickly noticed all kinds of little miracles happening the more I used them.

I especially like that each Archangel is associated with a special color and gemstone and was drawn to create jewelry using gemstones to help attract certain Archangels.

Sugalite (pendent) is the gemstone for Archangel Michael.

Archangel Michael is a leader among Archangels.  His chief function is to rid the earth and its inhabitants of the toxins associated with fear and directs those who feel lost or stuck with respect to their life’s purpose or career path.  He can stimulate the unmotivated or fearful into action. Michael also has an incredible knack for fixing electrical and mechanical devices, including computers, telephones, fax machines, and other types of electronics.  I especially like to call on him to help clear my home and office of negative energies.

I was thrilled to discover that within the past few days, Doreen came out with two great new Apps: “Archangel Michael Oracle Cards” and a “Chakra Clearing” App that I highly recommend.  I’m ready for 2011!

 

Archangel Michael Oracle Cards now available as iPhone Apps!

I quietly rang in the New Year with just me and two of my favorite men friends: My daughter’s Dad, Kenwood Kennon (proprietor of  Shadetree Inn) and my old NYC beau from back in 1987 writer Bob McDonald, who moved to St. Francisville 5 years ago and brought everything we needed to make Beef Wellington (He had read a recent article about it in the Wall Street Journal and wanted to see if we could duplicate it.) It wasn’t nearly as difficult as we thought and was quite a treat! Here’s the recipe:

History & Recipe for Beef Wellington

 

Beef Wellington Photo from WSJ

 

Although the evening ended around 9:30 (nope, no kissing at this soiree!), we concluded the evening by each of us lighting a candle and making our wish for a glorious 2011 (something I do every year):

 

Church Candles burning on the Mantel from NYE Wishes - Archangel Sandelphon painting by Hunt Slonem

Wishing you all the best for 2011! Happy New Year!!!

 

One comment

  1. Ooh–I’m definitely getting those apps and I’ve always wanted to make beef wellington, too! It looks delicious.

    Glad you had a quiet evening with your nearest and dearest 🙂 Is 2011 ready for us?? Hmmmm 😉



Leave a Reply

