h1

Shutter Colors

August 22, 2019

Shutters can be almost any color, like the “Kennon Ivy” shutters I featured in my last Blog Post. I created three more colors specifically for shutters that are historically approved colors: “Creole Shutter Green”, “Forest Black” and “French Quarter Green”. Although I haven’t had an opportunity to use “French Quarter Green” on a project yet, I’ve had a crush on this color for many years and just had to include it in my new color palette.

I created this collage of photos of what I call “French Quarter Green” used on several buildings in New Orleans’ French Quarter. A sample of my Full Spectrum Paint color “French Quarter Green” is on the bottom row in the middle. I love the way it looks both newly painted and weathered.
“Creole Shutter Green” couldn’t be more classic. It’s more interesting than the traditional “Essex Green” you usually see on historic buildings and almost a dead ringer for the “Charleston Green” shutters you see in Charleston. Because of the many pigments within this color, it’s very chameleon-like.
I like “Creole Shutter Green” so much I created a formula for it in PPG’s new Break-Through product that can be used on anything (concrete, vinyl, plastic, porch floors, etc.). It was a cheap quick fix for this wood counter top that was varnished cypress.
“Forest Black” is a brown so deep it’s almost black. The bright sun in this photo makes it look lighter than usual. It works well with the “Moss Green” painted brick.
“Forest Black” shutters with “Lichen” siding on this New Orleans Bywater home.

Of course, as I said in the beginning, shutters can be most any color, but if you’re wanting a more traditional yet interesting shutter color, these three, along with the “Kennon Ivy” shutter color written about in my previous blog post work with most any siding color. If you’d free hand-painted samples of these or any of my Full Spectrum Paint colors, visit my Online Store.

ellenkennon.com
ellen@ellenkennon.com
877-877-7628

Leave a comment