h1

Re-blogging a great blog post on “All the Trappings”

July 21, 2010

I just read the nicest blog post by designer Andrea Veron who attended a birthday bash several friends and I hosted for Hunt Slonem last Sunday at Hemingbough in St. Francisville. I have mentioned Hemingbough more than once because it is one of my favorite spots in St. Francisville–238 acres of gardens and rolling hills where owner Arlin Dease hosts many major events including weddings, the annual Garden Symposium and concerts with the Baton Rouge Symphony (imagine enjoying entertainers like the Temptations and Dionne Warwick under the stars on those grounds!).  The photos Andrea took of both Hemingbough and Nottoway Plantation, another Arlin creation (he’s quite the visionary!), are spectacular!  To read all about it:

“A Visit to Hemingbough and a Birthday Party for the Dapper Mr. Hunt Slonem”

Here’s a party pic from Frances Cranford who drove down from Little Rock with Buff Blass who had the pastrami flown in from Katz’s Deli in NYC. The cake, by Michelle Weller, has a copy of the toucan Hunt often draws as part of the autographing of his latest book, Pleasure Palaces.

Beth Fuller cuts the first slice of cake for Hunt

Beth and Duane Ulkins (you can see his head peeking out from behind Hunt) decorated, made most of the food and dare I say “worked like dogs for days” to put on a wonderful party.  Judging from the food tables, it was a smash hit!

What did I bring in the way of food? Well, I made a shrimp cheesecake using the recipe I shared in my March 7, 2009 blog post “Best Birthday Cake Ever” and attempted to re-create a Chicken Salad that Gaye Landry made for a party thown for me last year that everyone raved about (roasted chickens cut up, Craisins, red seedless grapes, chopped green onions, toasted almond slices & cracked black pepper tossed in a 50-50 mix of  Helman’s mayo and Miracle Whip) and my old standby “Chutney Cheese” from River Roads Recipes which I never tire of: Mix two 8 oz. pkgs. cream cheese with 8 oz. shredded sharp cheddar, 8 Tbls. sherry, 1.5 teas. curry powder & 1/2 teas. salt. Mold into a disc and top with Major Grey’s Chutney & chopped green onions & serve on crackers).

I’m determined to get Beth’s recipe for her Whiskey Sour Punch that Andrea and everyone was raving about and when I do, I’ll share that, too!

Bon Appetit!

2 comments

  1. THANK YOU!!!!!

    That was WHISKEY????? Oh, thank GAWD there was not an unlimited supply, I woulda certainly had a hard time keeping my sailor mouth under wraps ;)

    The shrimp cheesecake was divine, and so was the Chutney Cheese!!! Oh man, was that good! Whoever made the cheese cookies that were cookie shaped vs. straw shaped did a fine job too—everything I tasted on that table was superb :)

    Thank you so much for this blog-post, it means a lot to me!!

    xoxo,

    Andrea


    • Yep, I believe so! I’ll ask Beth for the recipe along with the recipe for those cheese cookies (she made them). She also makes a wonderful panacotta with fresh berries on top that I’ve been meaning to ask her for that recipe as well! I’ll share when I get them!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 816 other followers

