h1

Many Shades of White

May 19, 2010

I can’t begin to tell you how many calls I’ve had from people who have been to designer Jon Vaccari’s new St. Charles Avenue showroom in New Orleans raving about his colors!  Dare I say colors? Perhaps not, since everything is painted in the same white–a new custom white I created especially for Jon (aptly named “JV White”).  Here are a few photos. You can see more by visiting his newly revamped website, www.jonvaccaridesign.com!

"JV White" shows off Jon's fabulous furnishings which can be yours!

Yes, that's "JV White" on EVERYthing!

Soft as a cloud, "JV White" can be yours, too!

If you are in the New Orleans area, be sure to stop by and check out Jon’s exquisite furnishings, and say hello to both Jon and designer Dean Coe (creator of  our “Dean’s Dream” color). They are located at 1912 St. Charles Avenue. You can also get on  their newsletter mailing list to receive photos of the latest shipments of furnishings by emailing them at info@jonvaccaridesign.com.

To order a sample of  “JV White”, email me at ellen@ellenkennon.com

P.S. This color reminds me of the divine angel food cake Stephanie Lewis made. I asked her for her recipe and she said she uses Duncan Hines but used ICE water and whisks it (as opposed to using a mixer). I can’t begin to tell you what a difference this makes!

www.ellenkennon.com

877-877-7628

8 comments

  1. EK, I wish more people understood how a full spectrum white differs from most regular white paint colors.

    So the latest trend on the www is a bunch of opinion about how white needs abundant light to look pretty. That it dies off in the shadows of low-light rooms. All rooms have shadows; even rooms with robust light.

    I think this new accusation of white is stemming from an excerpt in one of the Kaufman books and I suspect it’s been taken out of context — somewhat — or the entire concept is not fully understood.

    So, now, all of the sudden there are all these ‘rules’ about undertones and hues and quality of light and what colors can and can not do, etc.

    Most of it’s a lot of bunk and it’s obvious to me that those opinions are based on what someone has read, not what someone has actually experienced or learned while working with structure and color.

    Because if you actually know anything about color and structure then you know that any quality of light and any geographic orientation can carry any paint color as long as you nail the nuance and character of color.

    But that’s an uber color expert-y thing to be able to pull off. And herein lies the point of this whole big long rant. Uber color expert-y types know the easiest way to arrive at ‘the right white’ for a certain quality of light/room is to look in the full spectrum chips FIRST.

    The addition of JV White is great news. I have no doubt it will be *the* color solution for many who prefer the white aesthetic. Hoping my chip is in the mail. 😉


    • Thanks for the great insight Lori! Your set did go out today but I’m afraid I’ll have to send an addendum batch of custom colors!


  2. It’s beautiful, Ellen. Wish I were in the neighborhood to go there in person.


    • Well, now that’s a thought. You can come get all those gallons of paint we’ve been talking about shipping! 🙂


  3. Neat, this would be perfect in a rental unit (which can be painted in any color you want, as long as it’s white!)


  4. I don’t even know how I ended up right here, but I believed this publish was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger if you happen to aren’t already 😉 Cheers!


  5. […] my May 19, 2010 blog post “Many Shades of White“, I posted photos of Jon Vaccari’s fabulous New Orleans showroom where everything is […]



Leave a Reply

