h1

“Hot Pink!” and other New Age Colors

December 17, 2009

In my most recent Autumn Living Well Newsletter, I mentioned that I was working on a fuchsia color. Well, I finally finished it and I have to say, it’s yummy and hot! So no other name is more fitting than “Hot Pink!”. We’re happy to send out a free sample, just email us and we’ll get one right out to you. We created it in our “green” Lifemaster flat finish, but it is also available in eggshell and semi-gloss.

Our inspiration was the Ben Moore color “Razzle Dazzle” that was featured in a previous House Beautiful Magazine article in their July ’09 issue.

Inspiration for our newest color

Now, “Hot Pink!” isn’t a color for just any space, although it’s stunning in the foyer and stairwell of the Brooklyn Townhouse featured in HB. It would make a fabulous powder room, dining room and/or teenage girl’s bedroom. Try complimenting it with “Mocha” or “Milk Chocolate” and you’re really talking yummy!

Well, if you haven’t heard, Pantone recently came out with their selection for 2010’s Color of the Year. They have selected a turquoise (see below):

Pantone's 2010 Color of the Year

Turquoise is a warmer shade of blue that is both soothing and refreshing, much like ICI/Akzo Nobel’s International Color of the Year for 2010 (see October 2nd post). According to Color Expert Kate Smith of Sensational Color, Global Color Research selected “Verdigris” as the 2010 color. Of course, color trends are all interesting and it is certainly fun creating new colors, but there’s something to be said about classic colors that have been popular for decades, which is why the majority of our palette consists of historic colors and easy to live with neutrals. Our “H2 Ahh!!” created especially for Kate was suggested by her as a “complex neutral” version of turquoise because it shifts back and forth from a subdued blue to green. It also works especially well with our own “Verdigris” color we initially created for Orange County designer Karen Mason’s master bedroom.

Over 20 years ago, when I first moved from NYC to St. Francisville, I took a metaphysical color class from local artist and channeller Anna Macedo (annamacedo.com) which is where I first learned about the correlation between color and numerology. I still remember her prediction about the colors turquoise and magenta being what she called “new age” colors and becoming more popular. Well, Anna was certainly ahead of the game, don’t you think? I still have my notes from her class:

Magenta is born of two invisible rays which together become visible. This blend of ultra-violet and infrared is a mysterious newcomer into our realm of sight. It inspires achievement through love of family, friends or an ideal. It promotes inner satisfaction from that which is well done and is a bridge to Spirit and connection with Divine love, beyond passion into compassion.

Turquoise is an ethereal, healing color that is particularly useful in reducing stress without depleting energy and is the color of the new chakra located at the thymus gland or what is often called the higher heart. It promotes compassion and unconditional love, self-respect and respect for all life and all forms of communication, marking the dawn of the Age of Aquarius – the age of silicon vs. coal (computers, the internet and all forms of communication taking place over wires and waves or through wireless mediums).

On a more earthly note, most ICI Paints stores will be closed Christmas Eve through Monday, December 28th (we will be too), so if you’re planning any painting projects over the holidays (you’d be surprised how many people are!), be sure to call us early next week to place your order.

If I don’t post before then, I wish everyone a very happy holiday season!

5 comments

  1. Love the “hot pink”! Has always been my favorite. I would do my whole world if Phil would let me!


  2. Well, you should at least have a little card of it to meditate on! Email me for a sample: fspaints@aol.com


  3. Nice colour indeed. May I be educated on criteria to get colour of the year?


    • I got my information from researching the Internet & color consultant friends who were members of CMG (Color Marketing Group).


  4. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding
    more. Thanks for great information I was looking
    for this info for my mission.



Leave a Reply

