h1

It’s Out & I’m In!

March 15, 2009

Imagine my surprise and delight to happen upon a book review on The Decorating Diva where I was mentioned as one of the designers in the book!  It’s a House Beautiful Magazine book entitled The Home Book: Creating a Beautiful Home of Your Own.  The Decorating Diva herself, Carmen Natsche, has predicted one of the decorating trends of 2009 to be “Sanctuary Home” and said “Ellen Kennon shows you how to create a holistic sanctuary-style bedroom,  a place you can retreat to from this increasingly maddening world of economic upheavals and geo-political strife.”  I was interviewed a few years ago for the book, but had since been told the project was on hold, so I had no idea it had been out since November 4th!  As Carmen states, it “is a gorgeous, educational and inspirational decorating guide-book filled with over 460 pages of design advice and more than 500 photos of rooms designed by top interior designers. ‘The Home Book’  is the literary equivalent of  having your very own on-call personal interior stylist available to answer your pressing design questions (How do I pick the right decor colors? or What patterns work together? – to name a few),  and offers up fresh, decorating advice at the turn of a page.”  The interview is on pages 474-475 and there’s also a very nice mention about our “Mushroom” color in the “Colorful Opinions: Neutrals” chapter on page 349.   How do I know this?  I rushed out to the Barnes & Noble to pick up a copy!  However, it can also be ordered on Amazon.com along with another great HB book, Colors for Your HomeI found out I was also included as one of the designers in this book after I bought itthe-home-book !  I purchased it because it contains 300 favorite colors of designers.  They were kind enough to include me as both a designer and a paint provider!  The colors I talk about are two of my favorites:  Buttercream and Mushroom.  So to celebrate, I’m offering $5 off per gallon on both of these colors!  Just be sure to mention you read about them on my blog!  colors-for-your-home

Leave a Reply

