h1

Here, there, everywhere!

March 31, 2008

Gosh, today is the last day of March!  It has flown by so fast–hence my delay in posting.  I have been out-of-town more than ever.  As much as I love living in St. Francisville–especially these days, with all the beautiful Spring weather and wild flowers!  However, I have been enjoying spending time away in different environments, getting acquainted with new friends and visiting old friends.  Earlier this month I went to a dinner and opening of George Rodrigue‘s “Blue Dog” show at the New Orleans Museum with Hunt Slonem who flew in from NYC to show his support for his friend George.  George’s show was most interesting (I had no idea how many blue dogs he’s painted!) and Chef Paul Prudhomme’s food was a hit (no surprise there!).  New Orleans even seemed back to normal.  Hotels and restaurants were filled.  

I also spent a few days in Chicago helping a client (& new friend) put together a color palette for her new home.  Snow was still on the ground, but the sun was shining.  My client’s home was actually in Hinsdale, which was a delightful surprise.  Lots of beautiful old homes and a charming, quaint downtown area.  There was actually a jack rabbit hanging out just outside her living room window!  I stayed in downtown Chicago where so much was happening I was thinking “Could this be the ‘new’ New York???”

Well, maybe not, but it certainly has more to offer than I remembered.  It had been quite a few years since I’d been there.  

I brought my daughter with me to New York last week.  She loves New York and has her sights set on going to Columbia.  She enjoyed attending plays, while I enjoyed visiting with friends, both old and new.  Hunt Slonem was kind enough to host a get together in his new studio which is pretty fabulous.  I just posted photos of several of our colors that he used (Del Sol, Giverny Blue, Giverny Green, Albania Teal and Coral).  It was great to be able to see the finished rooms and share them with so many friends and clients!  

I also was able to meet Sensational Color Guru Kate Smith in person, along with two other “Sensational Color Mavens”, Julie Hoylen and April Clark.  Kate and I have become friends over the telephone, but had never met in person.  I’ve been reading Julie and April’s “Live in Full Color” blogs on Kate’s website, so it was so nice to also meet them in person.  Needless to say, we had so much in common, we practically closed down the Algonquin Lobby talking the night away! 

However, not all was business (which is pleasure) for me!  I finally got to see why Patti LuPone is my daughter’s favorite entertainer!  She was incredible in Gypsy!  Of all the Broadway plays, with all of the incredible performances, I have to tell you, Patti LuPone is THE BEST!!!   

After almost a week of winter temperatures, we are back down south where Spring has definitely sprung!  To give you a taste of St. Francisville, I’ll close with some photos we took at Afton Villa Gardens which is open from now until next Winter.  Owner Gen Trimble had 8,000 tulips planted which were in full bloom, along with Azaleas, Pansies, Daffodils and Cherry trees!   (Click on each photo to enlarge)

HAPPY SPRING!!

 

One comment

  1. Re: cannot subscribe

    I will check into how to do this and do it! Thanks so much for your interest!



Leave a Reply

