h1

Finally! A Way to Stop Junk Mail & Unwanted Catalogs!

February 13, 2008

I can’t believe I’m just now hearing about this, but I’m so happy to have found www.greendimes.com!  Every day when I go to my mail box, I bemoan all the trees wasted on all the catalogs that keep popping up in my mailbox!  

Yesterday, I received an email letting me know about Green Dimes which is this wonderful service that not only takes care of getting rid of junk mail and unwanted catalogs, but they will plant trees as well!  There is a one time fee of $20 which covers all of their services.  Just go onto their website, complete their form and via their Catalog Screener section, you list all the catalogs you are currently getting that you want stopped.  They take care of the rest.  Interestingly, I discovered the biggest catalog culprit, Victoria’s Secret, makes it extremely difficult to cancel.  For that reason alone, I have decided to shop elsewhere! 

With internet shopping more convenient than ever, including via iPhones, there’s really no reason to waste not only trees, but as it turns out, water!  Here are the stats according to Green Dimes:  “In the US alone, over 100 million trees and 28 billion gallons of water will be lost this year to create junk mail.  Green Dimes has already stopped 3 million pounds of junk mail and planted over 425,000 trees, all in just over a year.”

If you too are inspired, spread the word!  I’m inspired because someone is finally doing something, but if all this weren’t enough, they have an email program where if you use their site to email friends, they will pay you $3 for every friend who also signs up.  Needless to say, they have some non-profit partners involved.

I’m so excited, I’ve decided to have a sale to celebrate “green”!  $5 off per gallon on all paint colors in the green range if you mention this blog.  Heck, I’ll make it $5 off per gallon on all our colors if you tell us you signed up with Green Dimes!  But remember, you have to tell Teresa you read it on my blog when you place the order to get the discount.  Sale is good through the end of February.

Have a wonder-filled “green” day!

One comment

  1. Thanks for your outline. I love read it Marcy



Leave a Reply

