h1

Color Review

August 18, 2006

Just checking out the Home Decorating Forum on Garden Web’s “That Home Site” and found a post I’d like to share by a color consultant who uses our paints. She goes by “funcolors” on the forum, so I’ll continue to keep her anonymity. Another reason for sharing is to remind anyone who’s reading and interested, that there’s a $5 off per gallon on all of our NEW COLORS: BARK, BLUSH, BONE, CORNSILK, KHAKI, LUMINAIRE, PUMICE, SKY, TAUPE & WHEAT. But remember, to take advantage of our sale, you need to tell us when you are placing your order! We paint up extras of new colors to send out upon request. So email or call us to get the new colors.

By “funcolors”:

“. . .I’ve been out of the EK loop for the most part. I didn’t even know she was working on new colors until the new swatches came in the mail one day. The new colors are neutral and sophisticated, very lovely.

I’m seeing a trend as far as people wanting to lighten up and go less saturated with color, but still have a few rooms in their home with a burst or two of strong color. There really seems to be a mix of tastes and preferences for wall color right now. Which is GREAT! Too much fun.

My favorite EK colors? Gosh, that’s a toughie. I’ll try to keep it short! 🙂 I love Cognac. Have that throughout most of my lower floor. Bronze in my kitchen looks awesome with my stainless steel appliances. I put Tuscan Sun in a bathroom with a periwinkle/lime/orange shower curtain and I love that color too. Have Slate going up in my powder room with a Ralph Lauren silver metallic ceiling – waiting for the boys to go back to school so I can finish that.

Magnolia, Grand Teton Clay, Shrimp, and Tulip Leaves were a bit scary to the homeowners as they went up, but all ended up loving their colors once the painting was finished. Shrimp is a gorgeous coral color, has a slight nod of golden at certain angles.

Berry Red is hands down my favorite red out there — it is the perfect red, perfectly warm, yet perfectly cool all at the same time — how I don’t know. When people talk about red as a neutral, I kind of roll my eyes. But with the Berry I can actually see it being a neutral because it is complex and so diverse. Used it in an open floor plan with SW’s Latte – just yummy.

Mushroom is in the ultimate neutral category for me. It’s one of those go to colors that seems to work in the most challenging lighting conditions and/or for the most challenging client who is hesitant, unsure, afraid. It’s a safe color that isn’t boring. Soooo classy with white trim!

EK has an old color called Cornflower Blue that I swear is the most beautiful color of blue I have ever seen. I WILL find some way to use this color! 🙂 I just don’t know how yet.”

Leave a Reply

