h1

When it rains, it pours!

September 23, 2005

I’m so thankful for all my paint customers who continue to order paint and an answering service that can patch in my calls! As I’ve said, our communication systems are stressed to the max down here with the influx of people from New Orleans and now. . . with Rita on her way, it’s getting down right crazy! I’m originally from Lake Charles, so yesterday we received six NEW houseguests! My mother, brother, his wife, 5 year old daughter, 1 week old son and mother-in-law who came all the way from Indonesia for the birth of her new grandson. We’re just hoping and praying that their homes remain intact so that they’ll be able to return home after the storm. Of course, even if their homes are okay, there’s the possibility of no power, so. . .

I was happy to get an email from Betty Guillaud this morning who said she’s alive and well and staying in Orange Beach (near the Flora-Bama Bar)! Betty retired as the Lagniappe Editor for The Times-Picayune newspaper. Her job was to attend (& write about) all the social events in New Orleans. She has quite a flair. I used to feel like a movie star, when I’d read about myself in her columns!

Please keep us in your prayers as we “hunker down” once again. It’s already very gusty down here with a few showers and as long as Rita stays on her path, hopefully, we won’t get more than 20-30 mile an hour winds and some much needed rain.

I look forward to being back in my office Monday morning doing business as usual!

Leave a Reply

