h1

More house guests and happy campers!

September 7, 2005

I received a phone call from Mary Ann Donovan yesterday who is one of our valued paint customers. She has a banner company (http://www.bannersfast.com) and asked me to let our Katrina victim friends know that she will make and send banners, free of charge, which can be used for temporary signage. For more information as to how to do this, please feel free to contact me at ellen@ellenkennon.com.

I can’t count the number of emails I’ve received from other paint customers asking what they can do or where they can send money, or needed items. As competent as the Red Cross and other similar organizations may be, these people need these things NOW and don’t have the luxury of time, waiting for some of the red tape that needs to happen, before the actual supplies get to them. Today they need things like paper plates, paper towels, toilet paper, baby diapers, baby wipes, baby formula, Pedialyte, baby items in general, powder, lotion, sterile gloves, large cans of vegetables, school supplies, and anything else to lift people’s spirits. Roads to Covington, Lousiana are now open and the Veterans for Peace organization has taken their equipment and staff of volunteers and set up camp in Covington on the shores of Lake Ponchartrain. They are accepting materials and personally distributing them to those in need. You can ship these items by going to their website (http://www.VFPRoadTrips.org). Or if you can’t ship and would like to make a donation, then go to http://www.VFPRoadTrips.org and make a donation through Pay Pal. They will have immediate access to this cash and can buy the items themselves from stores that are open in Louisiana (all donations to Veterans for Peace are tax deductible).

Everyone in St. Francisville and the Baton Rouge area are working hard to try and help these people get back on their feet as well as keep their spirits high. I know many people who have between 20 and 25 people staying in their homes! We’re expecting our 5th house guest this evening (Marc Winsberg’s law partner). I’m sure they’ll get my 12 year old daughter, Alex and her dog Rosie, to put on one of their famous “Rosie Fashion Shows”. Rosie is something. We adopted her several years ago and still don’t know exactly what she is. The girls at the local pet adoption were calling her “Miss Piggy”. Everyone loves her. When asked, we tell people she’s half Jack Russell and half pig. Poor thing is a bit homely, so Alex spends most of her allowance on outfits, hats, boas and tiaras. Rosie really seems to love showing off her wardrobe and most audiences laugh so hard they cry. As soon as I can figure out how, I’ll post some photos.

Evidently everyone’s prays are working, as we’ve had two wonderful days of cool breezy weather. I can’t begin to tell you how weather like this lifts peoples spirits down here. Prayer is so powerful and it sure seems to work. As I mentioned in a previous post, I pray that everyone who comes into contact with my paints is joyful and balanced. I recently received an email from Deanna Clevenger that I’d like to share, that gives me hope that my prayers are working:

Dear Ellen,
We’ve been in our new home now for almost two months, and everyone who comes to visit comments–raves!–about the colors. To some of them, I try to explain full spectrum; to others, I just smile and say Thank You. I hadn’t really thought much about it until I was reading your blog this evening. (By the way, I’m so grateful that you were not directly smacked by Katrina.) Anyway, I’ve been noticing the past couple of weeks that I feel much better than I have in a long, long time. I couldn’t figure out what might be the cause. Then your message reminded me of the possible “healing” qualities of this paint. Do you suppose…..? I’ve had chronic fatigue syndrome for nearly 20 years, suffer from osteoarthritis, and had a spinal fusion 18 months ago. I’ve started a new job and was worried that I physically wouldn’t be able to handle it, but it’s been a snap!
Well, whether it was your paint or not, I do love the colors and will send you some photos eventually. I’m pleased as punch with the way the rooms have turned out, and can’t thank you enough.
May God bless you and yours.
Sincerely,
Deanna Clevenger

Again, thank you, thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

