h1

Colorful Doors

November 17, 2010

I can’t tell you how many calls I’ve received lately from clients who want to paint their front doors in an exciting, unexpected color. I was drawn not that long ago to a photo in House Beautiful featuring a mocha colored house with a hot pink door. Last Summer, I painted deck railing and exterior trim on three small stained glass windows “Cornflower Blue” and am so thrilled with the results I’m considering painting the main entry door to my house (I have 5 exterior doors on a 1500 sq.ft. cabin) yet another color!

In Feng Shui, the front door is where the major part of Ch’i enters so it plays a major role in creating the overall energy of your home. Although many Feng Shui experts say you should paint your main entry door one of the colors relating to the directions it faces (i.e. N, S, E, W), I suggest considering choosing a color that creates the feeling & ambiance you’d like to experience each time you come home. After all, your home is your sanctuary. Here are some photos I found online Googling “colorful doors”:

I LOVE this rejuvenating color!


Another great color that creates both a soothing and rejuvenating welcoming atmosphere.


Coral is known as a "happy color" creating a cheerful atmosphere.

Interestingly, over the weekend a friend gave me an article from the Wall Street Journal’s Design & Decorating section about painting interior doors in unexpected colors. Traditionally, interior doors and millwork are usually painted the same color to create harmony from room to room, but some designers add pizzazz to more humble spaces with colorful doors. I love this idea! Especially using colorful doors in white rooms, like Shell Pink to soften the harshness of a white room. Or like the canary-yellow doors that cheer up the room below:

Yellow, the color of hope and optimism certainly cheers up this space!

A dark blue door creates both a soothing and tranquil space.


Regal purple is a spiritual color. Keywords include wisdom, vitality, motivation & passion.

We have lots of colors that would make a great front door: Hot Pink!, Barry’s Babylon, Del Sol, Mykonos Blue, Giverny Blue, Turquoise, Coral, Caribe, Monet Soleil, Ruby, Berry Red, Cornflower Blue, Turquoise, Amethyst . . . I could go on and on! Here is more eye candy to inspire!

A pink door certainly sets the tone for this girl's bedroom.


More interesting than white, green is soothing, healing, cooling.


Some of the most colorful doors were found in Ireland

The possibilities are endless and the richness and depth of a full spectrum color greeting you at your front door is spectacular! Email me and I’d be happy to send you samples! ellen@ellenkennon.com

http://www.ellenkennon.com

7 comments

  1. I LOVE brightly coloured front doors! I’ve painted ours about 5 times in 9 years – it’s currently turquoise :-) And the interior doors are a really dark chocolate brown.

    I love all the examples you’ve shown, especially the bright green front door in the first pic and the dark blue interior door.

    Kelly


    • Thanks Kelly! I’m certainly inspired and as much as I love and work with color, it never occurred to me to paint interior doors in bright colors!


  2. I love any color front door as long as it’s RED :)


    • Well Jody, I think you are in the majority on this one as red seems to be THE most popular and is most definitely a big “Feng Shui” color!


  3. I like so many on here who enjoy paint and it’s wonders; without paint how could we create. I have painted my metal front door each year for 20 years the leghth of time I’ve own this house. Since, the door gets afternoon sun from 12 noon til set– I would like to have a faux wood look. How is this possible to keep from fading?


  4. Great post! Been reading a lot about choosing colors for my home. Thanks for the info here!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 877 other followers

